Pasta Rustica Ristorante

One fine day on October 3rd, after a sleepy lecture, an escape to Lygon street was a pleasurable choice. Actually it was a sunny day that supposed to be a warm afternoon but the wind was pretty strong that day. Oh you know, Melbourne always has weather surprise. Hahaha. Lygon is an Italian area in Melbourne, a street in Carlton area where you can find varies of Italian Restaurants and cafes, pizza, pasta, dessert and any kind of Italian’s foodies here. I do love the atmosphere in this area.

That afternoon, me and my bf were totally blank where to go in Lygon and we just walked along the street randomly and checked the menus from some interesting restaurants. In the end we chose Pasta Rustica, a red-brick building that gave me authenticity and warm impression.

Complimentary Bread – A basket of freshly baked baguette with unsalted butter

pasta-rustica-ristorante-2

The entree -  Cozze Vino Bianco
This is a mussels dish cooked with white wine, Napoli sauce and chili.

I am a big fan of mussels and I had some bad experience of mussels dishes in my home country. It’s just not easy to have a fresh and good one even when I had it in a good restaurants there. Once I had a creamy spinach baked mussels and only the cream sauce tasted good, the mussels were not good at all.

I should say the mussels dish called Cozze Vino Bianco at Pasta Rustica was very yummy. The mussels themselves were so fresh and the Napoli sauce was good as well. Too bad that foor me, I couldn’t taste the chili since maybe my spiciness level is above average standard in here. I would like to have them spicier… I think it’d be more tasty.

pasta-rustica-ristorante

Cozze Vino Bianco – AU$ 19.90

The main – Penne Toscana
Penne served with diced prime eye fillet, mushrooms, onions, garlic and Napoli sauce. I like to eat fresh tomato but I don’t like tomato sauce. I know it sounds weird but in my opinion tomato sauce is kind of too sour and sweet. This pasta selection cooked with Napoli sauce which is a tomato based sauce as well (We didn’t notice that we ordered 2 dishes with same sauce for entree and main T.T). Luckily the Napoli sauce here was not too sour and sweet as I mentioned in the entree description. For the pasta dish, I should say the taste was merely so-so. It might because we already had similar dish for entree or what that made the taste lessen.

pasta-rustica-ristorante-1

Penne Toscana – AU$ 16.90

Overall the service was good, fast serving and friendly staffs. I would like to give another shot and try other pasta selections here. And not to forget. I’d  like to order the mussels for sure..!!!

Pasta Rustica Ristorante on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 949 other followers