Tofu Gratin

When it comes to my own homemade cooking, I am a big fan of everything fast and easy to cook. As this is such a busy week, I wanted to reward myself a self-cooked dinner on Friday night. Kind of a chilling me-time, with good food and nice book.

I know tofu gratin sounds a little bit confusing as this is combining Asian food with western style. Well this is an amazing fusion food for me. I had tofu gratin twice about two years ago. The first time I had it in a Japanese fusion Restaurant in Jakarta and the second one was my trial replicating what I ate in that restaurant.

I have bought a tube of silken tofu since the beginning of last week but had no idea what to cook. Until yesterday I was so craving for tofu and the only stuffs I have in the fridge quite supportive to be cooked as gratin. So here we go!

Tofu-gratin-1

Ingredients :

  1. 1 tube of plain silken tofu or any silken tofu
  2. 50 ml of lite milk
  3. 2 slices of tasty cheddar cheese
  4. minced carrot
  5. 1 tsp of butter
  6. salt and pepper
  7. one beaten egg
  8. parmesan cheese
  9. mayonnaise

Method :

  1. Heat up the oven to 180 degree Celcius while you preparing all the ingredients (approximately 10 minutes)
  2. Cut the tofu into thin pieces (approx 1,5cm each), arrange and pile them nicely in a bowl
  3. Heat up milk, butter and 1 slice of cheese, stir quickly until cheese melted and pour immediately into the bowl, try to spread the top side of the tofu evenly
  4. Mixed egg with carrot, salt and pepper then pour into the bowl
  5. Cut cheese slice into 4 parts and arrange above the tofu
  6. Oven for 25-30 minutes
  7. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and spread with mayonnaise

Tofu-gratin

Well it was such a fatty dinner though, but no problem as I don’t eat this everyday, right? No sin..no guilty feeling..it was a guilty pleasure 😀

Leave a Reply

