Poached Eggs and Friends

Hi guys! How are you? Hope everyone is doing good this week 🙂 I’ve been fully occupied by so many stuffs this week, which is good and bad in the same time. It’s getting cold here in Melbourne as in less than a month winter is coming. Winter is such a dilemma, if you know what I mean. 🙂 You love the comforting fluffy blanket with a cup of tea or hot chocolate but it makes you tempted to stay under blanket all day long and getting lazy to move your body.

Surprisingly this week has been a little bit warmer and yesterday I took the chance to go out and enjoy the lovely weather. Then I fed my tummy a nice brunch too at home! I’m a breakfast foods lover, even nothing fancy, just toasts, poached eggs, lettuce, bacon, ah you know right, typical breakfast baby!

One thing that made me quite happy was when I sent the photos of my food and my bf thought I was eating out. Then I asked him, “Oh so you think my food looks like something you are going to eat in a restaurant? Well..what a cheap simple happiness for me.” Hahaha 🙂

I have made a post about poached egg before and the only difference is this time I whisked the water to make a twisted current before beating the eggs in. It went very well and really helpful to keep the eggs back in shape. Have to practice this more often!

20130511_161114_resized

This was totally a fat brunch with double wholegrain toasts, double poached eggs, triplet middle bacons and bit of veggies

I made Hollandaise sauce to complete my poached eggs, has been through a “trial and error” processes in the past before finally reaching this result.

Ingredients :

  1. 2 egg yolks
  2. 2 tbs of lemon juice
  3. salt and pepper
  4. 3 knob of unsalted butter
  5. 2 tbs cold water

Step by Step :

  1. Put water in a medium size pan and turn on the stove in medium heat
  2. Place the egg yolks and water  in a clean bowl and put the bowl over a medium-size pan, assure that the bottom of the bowl not touch the water. It’s best to use big bowl to ease you while whisking the mixture and taking off the bowl from the pan
  3. Whisk the mixture consistently and slowly the bubbles will be smaller and lesser, the egg yolks color will also become pale
  4. When it becomes thickened and smooth, remove the bowl from the pan (the water seems to be boiling as well at this stage and you have to watch it would not touch the bowl)
  5. Slowly add the butter one by one while keep whisking to reach a good consistency and smoothness
  6. Add lemon, salt and pepper then serve the sauce with eggs

PS : Using a stainless steel bowl is the best but as lemon usually gets bitter easily when exposed with metal, I placed the mixture into another ceramic bowl and add the lemon and seasonings. It’s tricky to get a nice Hollandaise sauce but it’s worth to try, trust me! Since I still have some sauce left, surely I am going to poach more eggs next week.

Have a great and blessed week ahead, folks!

2 Comments on “Poached Eggs and Friends”

  1. trangquynh says:

    your decoration for the brunch looks gorgeous, I can understand why your bf thought you was eating out 😉 this dish is definitely nutritious and mouth-watering !!

    • Thank you,Trang!so happy to read your kind comment.
      Bacon,half cooked poached eggs and toast are really evil.I can’t stop eating them.Hahaha.I hope you have a great new week ahead.


Leave a Reply

