Organic GABA Tea

When the first time I heard about “GABA” tea, I found it sounds like a Japanese cartoon character. Pardon me. Sometimes this tea is also called Gabaron. Gabaron is even more cartoon-like for me. Pardon me, once again. Well I know, that probably sounds weird but that was my first spontaneous visualization.

Organic GABA tea is now popular especially to those with health concerns and specific interest towards organic teas. The GABA-containing drinks made from GABA tea have recently become more popular drink among Asians health-conscious individuals. In some area, there are GABA supplements and even GABA drink for losing weight purpose!

What is GABA tea? GABA is an abbreviation of Gamma Amino Butyric Acid. Well, who loves Chemist here? Raise your hand! No, I am not raising my hand though.

Gamma Amino Butyric Acid is one of the main neurotransmitter for the Central Neuron System (CNS) and has important role for the endocrine system. GABA prevents over excitement of the nervous system. GABA tea has been made and researched in Japan for more than 20 years by exposing tea leaves to Nitrogen during the processing. Nitrogen infusing makes Oxygen out of the leaves and this makes it really different from the other tea processing. The process takes around 6 to 10 hours long.

The GABA could work effectively as a natural relaxant to induce relaxation and diminish anxiety, and its administration could enhance immunity under stress conditions (Abdou et al., 2006). As other organic teas, GABA tea contains rich antioxidants too.

organic-gaba-tea

Benefits of GABA. Talking about the benefits, I would say this tea is one of the healthiest  choice ever.GABA is good for :

  1. circulatory system
  2. calming and relaxing your nerves
  3. health & beauty purpose
  4. increasing energy levels
  5. providing extra endurance
  6. supplying anti bacterial properties
  7. increasing sexual performance

To give you deeper idea of GABA tea’s health benefit, let me show you the comparison between GABA and green tea because it has always been perceived as one of the healthiest beverage.

  • 100 grams GABA tea contains 240mg of GABA
  • 100 grams green tea contains 6 mg of GABA which means 1 : 40

organic-gaba-tea-1

My coffee geek bf spared me some GABA tea that he purchased from Chamellia by Somage Fine Foods. The dry leaf is dark brown in rolled ball shape (it’s Oolong by the way). The tea smells fruity and sweet. I brewed this GABA tea in 100 degrees Celcius for 2 minutes.

organic-gaba-tea-2The infused GABA leaves’ color changed into slight reddish brown. FYI, one of the thing that keeps me captivated and interested with Oolong is watching those small rolled tea balls releasing and voila, full size tea leaves rising in totally different shape, size and (sometimes) color!!! organic-gaba-tea-3GABA tea tastes sweet and fruity with slight sourness. The loads of sweetness flavor remains long in the mouth.

This is highly subjective, but I feel good when consuming something with the full awareness of the product’s benefits. Even so, I can’t say I am a fan of GABA either. It’s sweet but not kind of sweetness that I like. However I will finish my GABA tea since it’s good for my health and my coffee geek bf has been so kind to spare some of his for me. Hahaha.

*PS: Mostly people use Oolong tea for GABA but now there are green and black GABA tea as well.

This post is made with credits to GABA tea Australia, Robyn Lee Tea, LWT Food Science and Technology Journal and Tea Entrepreneur and Enthusiast group on Linked In.

Leave a Reply

