Matcha Crusted Tuna

It’s been a while since my last recipe blog post! Today I am so excited to share this recipe because this is a creation combining my favorite ingredients, tuna and matcha. I am so attracted with tea cooking lately and I found it really interesting and….mind blowing? Eheee, wait! I do have an explanation for the using of mind blowing term here. It’s just I never had a thought before about tea cooking besides using green tea/matcha powder for making sweets or beverage blends but then I realized tea is highly versatile!

We could find so many recipe creation using matcha and I would say that 90% of them are sweet recipes such as blends, smoothies, or desserts. I love matcha dessert, of course. Well, it started when I had an urge of having crusted tuna about several days back. Then I got the idea to add matcha into my crust mix and see what would happen. I didn’t have any idea how it’d turn out in the end, I sincerely say twas yummo!

Ingredients :

  • 250 gr Tuna steak fillet
  • ½  tsp matcha powder, I used the one I got from Kenko Tea
  • 1/4 tsp salt (adjust with your liking if you want stronger or less salty flavor)
  • Pinch of black pepper
  • 1½ tbs sesame seed (add more if you love it)
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • Lemon

matcha-crusted-tunaI warn you, this dish is hawttt! But just in case you couldn’t manage the spiciness, just ignore the chili powder. Shooo.

Method :

  1. Mix Kenko Tea matcha, salt, pepper, sesame seed and chili powder so you will have matcha seasoning
  2. Marinate the tuna fillet evenly for both sides
  3. Preheat the pan until medium hot and drizzle a little amount of vegetable oil all over the pan
  4. Sear each side of the tuna for approximately 1-1,5 minute (or more if you like the tuna well done)
  5. Cut thinly and serve with lemon wedges

matcha-crusted-tuna-2I finished my tuna in a flash! This is perfect for appetizer or even main to be eaten with rice. Matcha has delicate and subtle flavor so the other seasoning will be overpowering the matcha itself. But I don’t think it is a big deal since I got the unique and nice color and not to mention the nutrition as well.

If you take a look to all recipes available on my blog, they have a strong similarity. They must be easy, simple and quick! That is how a(n) amateur cook food blogger who love eating and messing up in the kitchen deal with cooking. Happy cooking and much of love! Have a great great great Wednesday!


3 Comments on “Matcha Crusted Tuna”

  1. i guess this gonna be great too with beef loin….

  2. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    petitchef.com


Leave a comment